Kagami Memorial Research Institute for Materials Science and Technology早稲田大学 各務記念材料技術研究所


Kickoff Conference: JST-ERATO YAMAUCHI Materials Space-Tectonics Project ( 17 April 2021 )

Kickoff Conference: JST-ERATO YAMAUCHI Materials Space-Tectonics Project

~ Towards Game-Changing Science and Engineering for Future~

Organized by the JST-ERATO Yamauchi Materials Space-Tectonics Project
Co-Organized by Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST), Waseda University, National Institute for Materials Science (NIMS), and The University of Queensland (UQ)

Yamauchi ERATO Research Director (center), Asahi Project Manager (left), Sugahara Project Manager (right)


17 April 2021
13:00 – 17:30 (Japan Standard Time) / 14:00 – 18:30 (Brisbane Time, Australia)
Location Online
Simultaneous Broadcast : Research and Development Building (Building No.121), Waseda University / 1F, AIBN Building, UQ
Online participation: ZOOM (You will know the link after your registration.)
Registration Please send your information (name, position, affiliation, e-mail address) to the ERATO-Office ([email protected]).
*  The registration will be closed as soon as the number of participants reaches the limit (500).
Registration Fee Free
Language English


Japan Standard Time Brisbane Time, Australia
[1] Opening Remarks 13:00 – 13:20 14:00 – 14:20 JST Representative (To be announced)
Chair: JST Professor Kazuhiro Hono (Vice-President, NIMS)
Professor Alan E Rowan (Director, Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology (AIBN), UQ)
Professor Hironori Kasahara (Senior Executive Vice President, Waseda University)
[2] Outline of the JST-ERATO Yamauchi Materials Space-Tectonics 13:20 – 13:40 14:20 – 14:40 Yusuke Yamauchi (Professor, UQ / Visiting Professor, Waseda University / Group Leader, NIMS)
Chair: JST


[3] Plenary Lectures 13:50 – 15:20 14:50 – 16:20
Chair: Toru Asahi “Supramolecular Polymerization: Its Significance and Applications”

Professor Takuzo Aida (The University of Tokyo, Japan)

Chair: Yoshiyuki Sugahara “Managing Proton Gradients with Bipolar Membranes in CO2 Electrolysis, Fuel Cells, and Redox Flow Batteries”

Professor Thomas E. Mallouk (University of Pennsylvania, USA)

[4] Introduction of research group 15:20 – 16:50 16:20 – 17:50 – Nano-Dimensional Control Group (Waseda University)
Chair: Yoshiyuki Sugahara Yusuke Asakura
– Nano-Structural Control Group I (NIMS)
Joel Henzie
– Nano-Structural Control Group II (UQ)
Md. Shahriar A. Hossain
– Nano-Hybrid Materials Group (NIMS)
Jonathan P. Hill
– Nano-Materials Informatics Group (NIMS)
Watcharop Chaikittisilp
– Nano-Materials Characterization Group (Waseda University)
Tokihiko Yokoshima
[5] One min’s self-introduction of the ERATO’s core members 16:50 – 17:20 17:50 – 18:20
Chair: Toru Asahi
[6] Closing remarks 17:20 – 17:30 18:20 – 18:30 Professor Takayoshi Sasaki(Director, International Center for Materials Nanoarchitectonics (WPI-MANA), NIMS)
Chairs: Yoshiyuki Sugahara and Toru Asahi Professor Takuro Katsufuji(Kagami Memorial Research Institute for Materials Science and Technology (ZAIKEN), Waseda University)

JST-ERATO Yamauchi Materials Space-Tectonic Office
* Japan Office (1): ZAIKEN, Waseda University, 2-8-26 Nishiwaseda, Shinjuku, Tokyo 162-0051, Japan / Tel. +81-3-5286-3204 / E-mail: [email protected]
* Japan Office (2): WPI-MANA, NIMS, 1-1 Namiki, Tsukuba, Ibaraki 305-0044, Japan / Tel. +81-29-860-4635
* Australia Office: AIBN, UQ, Cnr College Rd & Cooper Rd, Brisbane, QLD 4072, Australia / Tel. +61-42-1716720

Waseda University’s Press Release
A prestigious honour and funding for Japan–Australia research collaboration
Powering up an international collaboration with Japan
Japan’s global connectors (Nature)
Australia’s Top 40’s Researchers – Superstars

Endorsed by
The Australia-Japan Foundation
The Catalyst Society of Japan
The Chemical Society of Japan
The Committee of Battery Technology
The Committee of Capacitor Technology
The Electrochemical Society of Japan
The Foundation for Australia-Japan Studies (FAJS)
The Fuel Cell Development Information Center
The Japanese Sol-Gel Society
The Japan Petroleum Institute
The Japan Society of Applied Physics
The Japan Society of Powder and Powder Metallurgy
The Japan Zeolite Association
The Materials Research Society of Japan
The Society of Polymer Science, Japan

Page Top
WASEDA University