Masayasu Kitagawa







     Major posts held:
     Governor of Mie Prefecture




Self Government (Seminar)
The Founding of a New Democracy Students will be made aware of the fact that they are citizens themselves, by observing the movements, which parallel the end of the demand style of democracy, through which the foundations are laid for building a new style of democracy, such movements as disclosure of information and the implementation of evaluation systems, or the introduction of manifesto that show progress schedules for policy, policies for securing revenue sources, quantitative indicators, and time limits.
We will enable the students to make new proposals based on a practical study of actual results in the field of local government, in a democracy system where the citizens play a leading role and the government fill the role of supporting them.

Self Government A
In the wake of the fall of the expanding growth oriented system that lingered for decades in the post war era, today’s Japan is at a major turning point in its civilization history. As per demand by such situation, both politics and administration must depart from the conventional fact premise to create new values.
The above social climate calls for the reform of the entire administrative system. This class analyzes the management quality, new public management, power decentralization, manifesto, ballot counting processes reform, FM, IR, CSR, and other subjects from the public management point of view to examine the transition from an administrative government to an entrepreneurial government.

Self Government B
This class discusses the way “government originated from the residents” should be while taking into consideration the current situation of the self government field. The examples will mainly comprise of cases I worked on in my term as Governor of Mie Prefecture. The class will take a look at information disclosure, evaluation system, facility management, competency, NPO and other tools and discuss how these tools contributed to the administrative reform.

Back to the faculty list